Senator Ahmed Lawan Emerges President of the 9th Senate

Uploaded by on June 11, 2019

The senator-elect representing Yobe North Senatorial District of Yobe State, Senator Ahmed Lawan has been elected as the President of the ninth National Assembly.

Senator Lawan, a member of the All Progressives Congress, APC garnered seventy-nine votes to defeat Senator Ali Ndume who polled twenty-eight votes in the election involving one hundred and Seven senators.

The emergence of Senate President Ahmed Lawan who has been in the red chamber since 2007, ends the fierce competition on who becomes the number three citizen in the country.

The race for the seat of the Deputy Senate President is between the immediate past Deputy President Ike Ekeremadu from Enugu West Senatorial District and Senator-elect Ovie Omo-Agege representing Delta central senatorial district.

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current track