Senate Committee On Pipeline Vandalism Visits Site of Pipeline Fire in Ijegun

Uploaded by on July 12, 2019

The Senate Committee on Pipeline Explosion has visited the site of the July 4 pipeline fire in Ijegun, Alimosho Local Government area of Lagos State on an assessment and fact-finding mission.

The pipeline fire was reportedly caused by activities of vandals siphoning fuel from the Nigeria National Petroleum Company, NNPC pipelines in the area.

Before going to Ijegun, members of the Committee paid a courtesy call on Governor Babajide Sanwoolu at the Lagos House in Ikeja.

The Governor thanked the leadership of the Senate for the swift response to the pipeline fire which is a national issue.

Governor Sanwo-Olu said complaints over the recurring vandalism of the pipeline have been made many times and expressed optimism that the resolution of the Committee would bring up lasting solutions to the matter.

The Governor gave the Committee a pictorial and written report already gathered by the State Government to further help the Committee in its mission.

In an interview with newsmen, the Chairman of the Committee, Senator Ibrahim Gobir said that the Senate has been working tirelessly to put an end to incidents of pipeline explosion in parts of the Country.

The Senator representing Lagos West Senatorial District, Solomon Adeola who raised the motion that the Committee which was established to probe the explosion in Komkom, Rivers should also capture the Ijegun incident said efforts would be intensified to enlighten and educate residents and communities to be vigilant and report suspected persons to the appropriate authorities

Correspondent Omolara Omosanya reports that the Senate had advised the NNPC as well as the Pipeline and product Marketing Company, PPMC to review the security architecture of its pipeline as well as consider the engagement of local communities and vigilantes to protect pipelines from vandals.

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current track