APC Wins Lagos Assembly Rerun Election

Uploaded by on March 24, 2019

The Independent Electoral Commission INEC, has declared Mr. Mojeed Adebola of the All Progressives Congress, APC, as winner of the House of Assembly Ibeju Lekki Constituency One seat.

The Returning Officer for the Constituency, Professor Rasheed Ojikutu of the University of Lagos, made the declaration at INEC Collation Centre in Ibeju Lekki.

According to Professor Ojikutu, Mr. Adebola emerged and returned elected with 9,484 votes to defeat Mrs.Tari Oliver, candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party who polled 1,901 votes.

The electoral umpire had delayed the announcement of the result of the House of Assembly seat held earlier this month because of over voting in nine polling units.

Our Correspondent reports that out of 12,711 registered voters in the affected nine polling units only 1,118 voters participated in the supplementary election.

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current track