Rt.Hon Mudashiru Obasa Returns as Speaker,Lagos Ninth Assembly.

Uploaded by on June 7, 2019

The lawmaker representing Agege Constituency one and Speaker of the eighth Lagos State Assembly, Chief Mudashiru Obasa has been elected unopposed as Speaker of the ninth Assembly.

During the inauguration, Lagos State Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu who was represented by his Deputy,  Dr Obafemi Hamzat solicited the support of the Assembly in confirmation of key appointments and passage of bills that would take the state to greater heights.

Earlier, the Clerk of the House, Mr Azeez Sanni who conducted the election of the Speaker and Deputy Speaker said the immediate past assembly performed excellently in its legislative businesses.

Chief Obasa, who is a fifth term legislator, was nominated by Mr. Olanrewaju Oshun of Lagos Mainland Constituency two and the motion was seconded by Mr. Yinka Ogundimu of Agege constituency two.

The Speaker in his acceptance speech pledged that the ninth assembly will work with the executive to provide good governance and ensure that Lagosians enjoy the dividends of democracy.

Correspondent Akinboye Akintola reports that all the principal officers in the eighth assembly retained their positions except the Deputy Chief Whip which was given to Mrs. Monsunmola Sangodara representing Surulere Constituency Two.

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Current track